Around 3,400 customers in 13 remote townships and 15 remote Aboriginal Communities are provided with electricity under the Remote Area Energy Supply (RAES) scheme.

The South Australian government owns the electricity infrastructure that supplies 10 remote towns and 15 Aboriginal Communities:

  • Blinman
  • Cockburn
  • Glendambo
  • Kingoonya
  • Manna Hilltown
  • Marla
  • Marree
  • Nundroo
  • Oodnadatta
  • Parachilna
  • Pipalyatjara, also servicing Kalka (APY Lands)
  • Murputja, also servicing Kanpi and Nyapari (APY Lands)
  • Yalata (ALT)
  • Oak Valley (MT)

The Central Power House at Umuwa (APY Lands) also supplies:

  • Amata
  • Iwantja (Indulkana)
  • Kaltjiti (Fregon)
  • Mimili
  • Pukatja (Ernabella)
  • homelands connected to the Central Power House grid, including Yunyarinyi and Watinuma.

Independent owner-operators supply electricity to customers in:

  • Andamooka
  • Coober Pedy
  • Yunta

View the RAES townships and communities in a larger map

Each independent owner-operator holds generation, distribution and retail licenses issued by ESCOSA. The state government subsidises costs for independent operators to make service delivery viable.

Cowell Electric Supply

Department for Energy and Mining

  • Phone: 8226 5500
  • Email:
  • Mailing address:
    Department for Energy and Mining,
    Energy and Technical Regulation – RAES
    GPO Box 320
    Adelaide SA 5001

District Council of Coober Pedy (Independent Operator)

Yunta Power Supply (Independent Operator)