This website uses cookies. If you are happy with the use of these cookies please continue to browse our website. For more information see our Privacy page. You may adjust your cookie settings via your chosen browser tools. Learn more
Skip to content

Around 2,400 customers in 13 remote towns are provided with more than 15 million kilowatt-hours (kWh) of electricity annually.

The South Australian government owns the electricity infrastructure that supplies 10 remote towns:

  • Blinman
  • Cockburn
  • Glendambo
  • Kingoonya
  • Manna Hill
  • Marla
  • Marree
  • Nundroo
  • Oodnadatta
  • Parachilna

Independent owner-operators supply electricity to customers in:

  • Andamooka
  • Coober Pedy
  • Yunta.

View RAES State/independent communities in a larger map

Each independent owner-operator holds generation, distribution and retail licenses issued by ESCOSA. The state government subsidises costs for independent operators to make service delivery viable.

Contact information

Cowell Electric Supply
General enquiries, fault and emergencies: 1800 805 020

RAES team
Phone: 08 8226 5500
Mailing address:
Department for Energy and Mining,
Energy and Technical Regulation – RAES
GPO Box 320
Adelaide SA 5001