This website uses cookies. If you are happy with the use of these cookies please continue to browse our website. For more information see our Privacy page. You may adjust your cookie settings via your chosen browser tools. Learn more
Skip to content

As of midnight 9 January 2021 restrictions will apply for any travellers arriving in South Australia from Greater Brisbane in response to the Queensland Government’s three-day lockdown of Brisbane, Ipswich, Moreton, Logan and Redland local government areas.

Exemptions for essential travellers to South Australia remain in place, with anyone arriving from COVID-19 hotspots required to undertake testing on days 1, 5 and 12, maintain contact registers, and self-isolate when not at work.

Any person who has already arrived in South Australia and has been in the Greater Brisbane area between 2 January and 7 January must test immediately and again on 13 January 2021. Unless the person has symptoms there is no requirement to quarantine.

Further, any person who arrives in South Australia from the Greater Brisbane area today and again before midnight 9 January 2020 must undertake testing within 24 hours of arrival, then on day 5 and day 12. Again there is no requirement to quarantine unless symptomatic.

Given the purpose of the Brisbane lockdown is to control the risk of an outbreak of the highly transmissible UK strain of COVID-19, companies are urged to avoid any unnecessary worker movements from identified hotspots.

Further detail can be found online at Queensland lockdown with detailed information also available at key risk areas that are the current focus of urgent contact tracing efforts

Should you have any questions, please contact at the Department for Energy and Mining.

Stay well

Paul Heithersay

Friday 8 January 2021

Previous COVID-19 updates for the resources and energy sectors