Some land in South Australia is owned or controlled by the Commonwealth Department of Defence which they manage either as a training or test area.

This land remains as mineral land under the Mining Act 1971 (SA) and can be accessed for mineral exploration and mining subject to certain restrictions and conditions under the Defence Act 1903 (Cth) and the Defence Regulation 2016 (Cth).

Woomera Prohibited Area (WPA)

The Woomera Prohibited Area (WPA) is used for 'the testing of war materiel' under the control of the Royal Australian Air Force.

Management framework arrangements support co-existence between Defence and non-Defence users within the WPA.

The WPA is approximately 450 km NNW of Adelaide.

Map of South Australia showing Woomera Prohibited Area

More about the Woomera Prohibited Area

Cultana Training Area (CUTA)

The Cultana Training Area (CUTA) is the largest training area of the Department of Defence in South Australia capable of supporting full combined arms exercises.

CUTA is approximately 370 km north west of Adelaide in the Upper Spencer Gulf between Port Augusta and Whyalla.

Cultana Training Area large map

More about the Cultana Training Area