The administration and regulation of offshore petroleum exploration and development in Commonwealth waters under the Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Act 2006 is controlled by two Federal agencies:

The South Australian Government maintains a key role through the Joint Authority arrangement between the Commonwealth and State Minister with involvement in decision making in aspects such as the release of areas and the award of titles, but has no day-to-day regulatory role.

Australia’s maritime zones and current offshore permits are shown on this map:

Petroleum and geothermal tenements

Offshore permits

All Offshore Petroleum Permit areas located beyond three nautical miles from the territorial sea baseline are administered on behalf of the Joint Authority by the National Offshore Petroleum Titles Administrator (NOPTA).

NOPTA publishes information about titles and applications on the National Electronic Approvals Tracking System (NEATS) website.

Joint Authorities detemine areas available for exploration though the annual acreage release. Vacant offshore areas are open to permit application only after gazettal by the Federal Government. Only one offshore permit can be granted over the same or overlapping areas.

For further information relating to Offshore Acreage Releases see the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science or Offshore petroleum exploration in Australia.